Till eighteen and nineteen centuries, Aphodisias got less attention of the visitors compared to other ancient cities of Anatolia which might be because of the difficulty of the access to the site. In 1835, Charles Texier and his group of architects came from England to the city and prepared some inscriptions and documents about the site. In 1892, the Director General of the Imperial Museums, Mr Osman Hamdi, visited the site. Those visits helped city catch more attraction as it deserved.
The first formal excavations began in 1904 by a French engineer, amateur archeologist and collector Paul Gaudin. The first ruins to explore and excavate were the Temple of Aphrodite and the Baths of Hadrian. As Gaudin had to leave for another project in Syria, the excavation was held by Gustave Mendel. The excavations were then left uncompleted.
In 1937, under the leadership of Giulio Jacopi, an Italian mission resumed the excavations. This work also had to stop soon because of international disagreements.
Only in 1961 systematic excavations begun and held by a mission from New York University under the leadership of Mr. Kenan Erim. Dedicating his life to discover Aphrodisias, Mr. Kenan Erim truly deserves to be buried in Aphrodisias, where his grave is near Tertapylon today.